KAPU: Swizzling it up at Petaluma’s brand new tiki bar! Wow! Wow! WOW!!!

The San Francisco Bay Area is a hot spot for tiki enthusiasts. There are more than a half dozen tiki bars in San Francisco itself. Oakland is home to three. San Jose, Emeryville, Alameda, Walnut Creek, and Napa also have bars. Way up at the north end of the Bay Area sits Petaluma (with a population of just under 60,000). Not to be outdone, it’s new tiki bar, Kapu, opened in January of 2023. Visiting it while I was traveling in California was practically all I could think about. Little did I know that my visit would become possibly the most memorable tiki experience of my life. REALLY!

The friend I was staying with, Erich, and I planned a quick road trip. Petaluma is only about an hour from his home in the East Bay Area. I found us a hotel within walking distance of Kapu and…off we went!

Truth be told, while the place was built out by the legendary Bamboo Ben and his son Blake (along with several other tiki all stars, such as Tiki Tony, Big Toe, Squid, Miss Fluff, and Tiki Farm), I just wasn’t feeling it or expecting much. I mean, Petaluma? Really?

I have nothing against Petaluma. It is a great little city with a vibrant downtown. It’s also very agriculturally based. Petaluma used to be the egg capitol of the world. It still is a big mover and shaker in the egg and poultry business, aside from other farming ventures. But a largely farming-based community and tiki? I didn’t exactly set my expectations on “stun”.

That being said, it was all of the rage on Instagram. Everyone wanted to go-go…and that included me. (I’m always up to trying new tiki.)

I’d made a reservation for 7 p.m. It was a Thursday. Even though the place had only been open two weeks, I didn’t expect it to be very crowded. We arrived at our hotel far earlier than we had anticipated. We thought why not go early (It was 5 p.m.) and have cocktails first? Great plan! It’s never too early for cocktails, right?

We walked in. I didn’t really get a chance to admire the cool cave-like entrance as the hostess was right there, ready to greet us. I gave her my name and told her we hoped to have some drinks at the bar before our dinner reservation at 7, if that was okay. She found us two seats together at the bar. I was stunned to see that the bar was so crowded. Our seats seemed to be the only vacant ones. Wow! Maybe I’d been wrong about this place?

From my little stool at the bar, I could see that the place was really nicely done. That was no surprise, as Bamboo Been and his son Blake (and all of the other creative involved) are legendary at what they do. The bar is a large square in the center of the main room, with nifty tiki hut booths lining two walls.

There is a wall-length bench seat along another wall, with small tables dispersed along it and chairs opposite the tables.

Across from the hostess’ desk, I could see a room housing four vintage pinball machines.

Okay, so the inside is nice, as expected. What about the drinks? Again, my expectations were low…and were incredibly WRONG! Oh my stars! Our bartender, Ben, was amazing. EVERY drink that night was spot on perfect and delicious in its own way.

I started off with a Fink Bomb, a classic “imported” from Frankie’s in Las Vegas. It was fantastic. Erich, also a fan of Frankie’s, ordered one as well. My respect for Kapu really started to climb.

While we sipped, the woman seated on the corner of the bar to Erich’s left, struck up a conversation. At first, it was just he and she gabbing. She was a very unassuming-looking woman. I figured she was just a local yokel out to try the new place in town, not realizing what a unique and clearly wondrous place she had in her midst. I thought they were just engaged in polite, idle chit-chat, being bar neighbors and all. But as I got drawn into their conversation, it became clear that this person was not just some townie out for a new thrill. No, this woman was a through and through tikiphile. She really knew her stuff. I was amazed.

While Gillian is a local, she was not what I expected. Not at all. She could rattle off the names of tiki artisans, was aware of various tiki bars and had visited several (at least in the Bay Area). She had also been to big tiki events. I was simply floored by her.

When it came time for round two, I opted for Ben’s favorite drink menu cocktail, Jasper’s Punch. Oooooo yes! Erich had asked what Gillian was having. She was enjoying a Blood and Sand, a classic cocktail that was not on the menu. When Erich ordered that, Ben just went to work—no cheat sheets required. Impressive.

As Erich, Gillian, and I chatted and imbibed, I asked Ben about the mugs the bar had for sale. There were two. One is a limited edition, tall and green — very nifty. It was created by Big Toe. The house’s signature mug was also really fab. It was done by Squid through Tiki Farm.

Both were nice. Since I was only visiting the area and lived so far away, even though I hoped to come back to Kapu on my next visit to California, who knew when that would be? I hemmed and hawed with myself…and eventually decided to buy both.

But how to get them home? Was there a box? A bag? Something they could wrap them in. I asked Ben, which I hated to do as he was so busy. He asked his colleague if she had a moment to find something. She playfully gave him a bit of mock attitude, then went off in search of something suitable. She returned with some bubble wrap bags, which were perfect. We fell in to this brief conversation on bubble wrap and her daughter. It was such a fun little conversation, and as odd as it seems, it really left another favorable impression on me. Her name is Ashley, but her friends call her “Smash.” (I wonder, since she told me that, if she now considers me a friend.) She was delightful.

Back in our conversation with Gillian, Erich and I were both taken with her and were having such a good time… we both wanted her to join us for dinner. It was inching closer to time for our reservation. I got up to ask the hostess if we could add a third person to our dinner party. She said we could. She was planning on seating us at the far table at the end of the long bench seat on the wall. I had noticed that few of the hut booths were vacant. Could we possible sit there? No, she said. Those were reserved for larger parties.

That was okay. I completely understood. Kapu is a new business and very, very busy. We were just three nobodies. But at least we were getting to dine there.

With dinner time approaching, we ordered another round of drinks. Erich and Gillian each had another Blood & Sand. I tried the Mai Tai. When 7 came along, the hostess was ready to seat us. We said farewell to Ben, who I was so in awe of. He had been friendly, helpful with the mugs (and all of my questions), and an excellent mixologist.

We got up to follow the hostess back when Gillian announced she wasn’t going to stay after all. What? Oh man… She had been such an unexpected delight. I really had been looking forward to spending more time with her and getting to know her better. So, reluctantly we bid her goodbye as well.

The hostess seated us at the small table and took away the chair that had been added to the side for Gillian. Moments later, this man walked up and put the chair back down. He said that his name was Chris and our new friend Gillian had decided to join us after all. What!?! Who hoo!

As Gillian made her way back, Chris said he would see if he could find us a bigger table. (The one we had was clearly built for two—not three.) When Chris returned, he said there were no other tables available, but would we mind dining in here?

He was gesturing to the small room just behind us. It had it’s own, small bar with several cushy lounge chairs against the wall. I had thought it must be an overflow or extra bar for the weekend, but no. Chris said it was their V.I.P. area, the Captain’s Quarters.

We were all awed by this kind and wonderful gesture. Wow! Yes, of course we would love to sit in there.

We were soon introduced to Bea, who would be our personal (What? I hate to use the word “server,” as that seems far less than what she was to us. Maybe she was more like…) ambassador to Kapu. She was wonderful, charming, and very personable. It turns out that Bea is a General Manager there, as Chris is also…and they are engaged to be married! Fabulous!

The whole experience was amazing. It was utterly unique and serendipitous. Here we were in this cool little private room in this fab-o-rama new tiki bar having a most enjoyable evening. We felt so special having such great service. I’m sure it must have been Gillian’s presence that warranted such fine treatment. In the two weeks Kapu had been opened, she had already been several times—including opening night. They may not have known her name, but they sure recognized her. Gillian had turned out not only being a fascinating new friend, but also our good luck charm for the evening. I am so glad she decided to join us. (Extra kudos to Ben, whom she says kind of coaxed her into it.)

Dinner was tasty. I have never been a fish or pork person…and I have all of these dietary restrictions. (Cocktails are not exactly allowed. But on my dietary bingo card, cocktails are my self-appointed “free” space.) But I was delighted to find things I could eat—and savor. I really enjoyed my garlic chicken and order of wok fried vegetables.

Erich scarfed down the fried yakisoba noodles dish.

Gillian had the Ahi salad.

We had one last round of drinks. On Bea’s recommendation, I tried the Queens Park Swizzle. (Good call!) Erich had his third Blood and Sand, while Gillian sipped a Jasper’s Punch. It was a nice way to wind down a perfectly magical evening.

We had spent four hours in Kapu; two at the bar and two enjoying dinner. I know that all good things must come to an end, but what an experience that night had been. It had been completely unexpected. I believe it was the best night I have had in a tiki bar. Ever. Everyone —Ben, Bea, Chris, and Ashley—had just been so awesome. Gillian had been such an incredible jewel of a find as well. The real capper was, as we were walking out a full two hours after leaving the busy bar area, we caught Ben’s eye and bade him goodnight. He looked up and said “Goodnight, Erich. Goodnight, Shawn.” Wow—that he remembered our names was just unbelievable and made the experience that much more incredible.

Things can change unexpectedly. The evening started off with Gillian, Erich, and I being three nobodies who ended up feeling like tiki royalty by the night’s end. That’s similar to how my lower expectations for Kapu did a complete 180 after an evening there. Wow! Wow! Wow! THANK YOU, Kapu, for an experience like no other.

KAPU
132 Keller St.
Petaluma, CA 94952
(707) 559-3665
http://www.kapubar.com/

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Please help keep The Tiki Tourist online! Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

$1.00
$5.00
$10.00
$5.00
$15.00
$100.00
$5.00
$15.00
$100.00

Or enter a custom amount

$

THANK YOU so much. Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

8 thoughts on “KAPU: Swizzling it up at Petaluma’s brand new tiki bar! Wow! Wow! WOW!!!

    1. Mr. Michael! YES–it was one of those amazing serendipitous nights where everything just went amazing well. The tiki gods had smiled down on us. Really–it was so amazing. We really did feel like the VIPS we weren’t. THANK YOU for visiting the page. CHEERS!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment