“TIKI WITH RAY” Wants to Interview Me? HUH? (Me!?!)

A couple of weeks ago, I got a notice on one of my Instagram accounts that I had a message. Usually the messages I get are from questionable companies who supposedly want to form a partnership of some sort (which sound bogus), OR they’re from women (with private accounts or ones featuring lots of photos of them wearing very little) looking for “friends,” OR they are pushing crypto currency. I went to my messages expecting more of the same — and was ready to delete whatever it was.

Except…this was from someone I followed. I didn’t know Ray Wyland at all, but I know who he is. He is the guy with that tiki blog, TIKI WITH RAY. While I was reasonably sure he wasn’t pushing crypto and knew his page wasn’t filled with scantily clad photos of himself (at least it wasn’t the last time I had checked), I couldn’t imagine what he wanted with me. So I clicked on the message and took a look.

Zowie! He wanted me (ME!?!) to be a guest on his show. Because of my little blog? I wasn’t so sure I wanted to do it. What did I really have to offer? There are less than 50 posts altogether on my blog. Seeing TIKI WITH RAY’s website years ago was part of the inspiration for starting my own dedicated tiki blog in the first place. I hadn’t been to nearly as many places as he had, I didn’t think. Nor had I been able to do much tiki traveling after starting the blog officially in the fall of 2019, partly due to COVID and partly to my neuro-muscular disease (both of which hit in March 2020) and all that my disease has robbed me of. My disease had aged me considerably–far faster than mere time passing. I am very heavy now, have totally gray hair and use a cane to get around with. I ain’t pretty. NO ONE needs to see me now.

Me, go on a tiki interview web show? Eek!

But a day or so later, I relented. It wasn’t sympathy for Ray or his hunger for new content that got me to change my mind. It was tit for tat, tiki for TIKI (WITH RAY). Going to do the show was simply an excuse to get my butt back to Seattle so I could re-visit my current favorite tiki bar, Inside Passage — and maybe a few others. I might also get a chance to see some family and/or friends. Why not?

The plan was to do the show from the Diller Room after 7pm. The Diller Room isn’t a tiki bar, but there is a bartender (Justin?) who comes in on Tuesdays and Thursdays who specializes in tiki cocktails. In fact, he has his own printed menus on those nights. Wow.

I told Ray about our plans to visit Inside Passage first for some pre-show libations. He agreed to meet us there (my visiting friend, Erich, came along), which was great as it gave us a chance to meet and get to know him a bit before the taping. Ray turned out to be a really great guy.

When our time at Inside Passage was up, Ray was kind enough to drive us to the Diller Room. (He would also drive us to our hotel later. How very nice of him.)

The Diller Room was nicer than I was expecting for some reason. Housed in the lobby of the former, historic (but now defunct) Diller Hotel, the Diller Room has become a downtown landmark.

Justin, the bartender with the taste for tiki, was there. I didn’t get his last name, nor did I get a chance to talk to him really. (He was very busy.) But I did learn that half of the drinks on his own, personal menu (the right side) were of his own creation. Zowie!

Our friend Amy was there waiting for us. It was so great to see her and I was thrilled she could come on such short notice. (And let it be known that Amy was the one who pushed the button to start the recording of the show. Ha!)

Finally, it was show time. Ray had a small bag with him. What was in the bag? Remarkably, it was his own portable studio; lighting, reflector, microphone, camera (phone) holder, etc. Amazing.

And then…we did the interview. It is all a big blur. I really don’t remember it, but I do know I was NERVOUS as heck. Just before shooting, I’d ordered a second cocktail—and downed it rather quickly. I don’t even really remember that either.

For better or worse, the video is below. Ray edited it somewhat–but I don’t think he edited it enough. I’m STILL in it. (Oh wait… Maybe that’s Jabba the Hutt?)

THANK YOU, Ray for having me on your show (although I’m still bemused as to why). It was a pleasure and an honor to both meet you and be featured on TIKI WITH RAY.

CHEERS!

Experience more TIKI WITH RAY:

TIKI WITH RAY (Blog): http://www.tikiwithray.com/
TIKI WITH RAY SHOW (YouTube): https://www.youtube.com/c/TikiWithRay/videos
TIKI WITH RAY (Instagram): https://www.instagram.com/tikiwithray/
TIKI WITH RAY (Facebook): https://www.facebook.com/tikiwithray/

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Please help keep The Tiki Tourist online! Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

¤1.00
¤5.00
¤10.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00

Or enter a custom amount


THANK YOU so much. Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

8 thoughts on ““TIKI WITH RAY” Wants to Interview Me? HUH? (Me!?!)

Leave a comment